Hi! I'm new to FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

CP2

Cadet
Hello all. I am here wanting to find out more about FreeNAS. I am planning on making a MASS storage volume that all 4 our home computers can access. 2 Macs, 2 windows, with one dual booted to Linux Mint.

I am conflicted as to what I want to do to make this Network storage possible. For starters I am not sure how FreeNAS is implemented. Is it a full OS in itself, or is it something I install on a NAS box? When I say NAS box, I mean those prebuilt blocks bought from the store. Or is it something I install ontop of a Linux/*BSD OS simply for the use of network storage? I was told I should use Samba on top of my Linux. Then someone said freeNAS is the way to go.

So can someone help? Or point me in the right direction?

CP2

Cadet
Alright. So can i connect those NAS boxes to my freeNAS computer and run it? Or will a NAS box not work and i have to use regular hard drives? Im still not sure how those prebuilt NAS work. I saw some on best buy but it seemed like they would only work with windows. I know that freeBSD isnt advertised as a compatibility set but is it possible to use that?

anthony

Dabbler