Help with UPS Setup

dontplexonme

Dabbler
Hello,
I'm new to Truenas Scale (went from running a Ubuntu Docker Server to TrueNAS) and so far I'm liking it.

Just trying to finalize my Switch over to TrueNAS and finishing up with my UPS.
I have a CyberPower LE1000DG-FC from Best Buy and had it working fine on the Ubuntu Server running the Powerpanel Drivers and Configuration.
However, on TrueNAS Scale I can't seem to get any response from the UPS.

I run the command upsc ups and get Connection Refused.
I've used the powerpanel driver, genericups and usbhid-ups for the driver and still, Connection Refused on everyone.
The Port/Hostname is set to AUTO.

Just wondering if someone could help me out,
and if you need any more information just let me know!

Thanks!

@dontplexonme

Not sure I can be of much help with your specific UPS model, but here it goes.

1. Per the manufacturer site, the USB communication port is HID compatible.

Screen Shot 2022-05-16 at 7.07.32 PM.png

2. TrueNAS uses NUT https://networkupstools.org. It appears from the HW compatibility list, that all of the USB connected CyberPower models use the USBHID-UPS driver.

Screen Shot 2022-05-16 at 7.04.23 PM.png

3. Auto might work depending on how the UPS is presented when connected to a USB port. You might try the following command to determine the bus and device enumeration so you can force the Port/Hostname. Keep in mind that if you add/remove USB devices or reboot the system, the bus and device enumeration may change.

Code:
dmesg | grep -i usb

4. On SCALE there is a known permission issue that you have to manually change via the SSH CLI. I don't believe it persists on reboot.

Code:
chown nut /etc/nut/*
/etc/init.d/nut-server restart
upsc ups

5. If all else fails, you might be able to connect the UPS to another client, install NUT, share as a UPS Master, then configure TrueNAS as a UPS Slave. I have my APC UPS connected to my pfSense firewall as a UPS Master and all TrueNAS appliances as UPS Slave.