Help with NFS and Mac OSX 10.7 (Lion)

Status
Not open for further replies.

andrema2

Explorer
I'm new to Mac world and to FreeNas. I have setup a FreeNas (8.0.1 b4) to act as my NAS at home. The idea is to use NFS and access it from my iMac and Mac Mini. I don't need control over what is accessible from either machine since the idea is that both should see the same thing (movies, music and some other files).

I have create the volume and create a user as indicated by http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/NFS_Shares. I used the maproot option. Then I tried to mount the drive on Mac using http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/apple-mac-osx-nfs-mount-command-tutorial/ the GUI part. The problem is that when I use Finder to go to the folder, it says that the folder can't be found and then it creates a folder locally which doesn't seems to be in the NAS at all.

What am I doing wrong ? If you need more information let me know. Since I'm new to this I don't know exactly what information is need to troubleshoot it.

aparmley

Cadet
I'm learning as well, so I'm not expert. However, I am curious why NFS share? why not choose AFP share to be compatible with Mac OS?

perhaps the answer will get some communication flowing?

Also, after you make the share, don't forget to actually enable the service you are wanting to use to make it available...;)

andrema2

Explorer
Hi,

I was able to share it eventually. I don't know what it was, but I solved it. I chose NFS because I understood it would be faster even in Macs.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
NFS isn't necessarily faster on Macs, but it does allow you to use the Apple "Fast User Switching" feature, whatever they call it.