NFS And MAC OSX - Share Assistance Needed...

Status
Not open for further replies.

bbddpp

Explorer
I am at wit's end on this one and figure it must be some brain block so I'm laying out the details in the hope that someone wiser (or less fried) than me can give me a solution. Please, I'm begging you.

I love FreeNAS and have the latest and greatest running. I'm a newb but a quick study. Up to the point now of setting up NFS shares.

Here's all I'm trying to do:

I simply want to share a single folder, to start, with read/write access, via NFS, to two OSX machines. I'd like this share to mount automatically/silently at boot and have full read/write access.

My two OSX machines: One runs at 10.7.5 and still has the "NFS Mounts" option in disk utility. The other machine is 10.8.2 and does not. Both are behaving similarly but for the purposes of this info here I'll be talking about the 10.7.5 machine.

My folder is called "ShareData", and stored on the FreeNAS server at the mount point: /mnt/data/ShareData.

On the OSX Box:

In order to mount this using finder and the "Connect To Server" option, I have to put the following into the Server Address box:

nfs://192.168.1.199:/mnt/data/ShareData

When I do this, I get a Mounted Drive on my desktop and accessible through terminal at /Volumes/ShareData. Seems ok so far. I can enter this folder and write data to it. But I had to manually do that via finder.

So now, onto the NFS Mounts section of Disk Utility. There, strangely enough, using 192.168.1.199 and /mnt/data/ShareData does not work. Here, NFS mounts won't accept my mount unless I put THIS in the "Remote NFS URL" Field: nfs://192.168.1.199/ShareData.

When I do, it's accepted, however, then when I go into terminal, I cannot even access /Volumes/ShareData. I get "Permission Denied". Of note, if I left the original finder ShareData mount, it remains, and the one from NFS Mounts is mounted as /Volumes/ShareData-1 (still permission denied).