Grooming with first NAS build.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wielkaberta

Cadet
Hello,
I've started second week of grooming and here are my results so far.
Apologies for long post.

Background:
- Long time ago, I made naive implementation of RAID on my "multimedia" workstation, which is HW RAID-5 with 8 TB working space (AsRock Z97, Hitachi disks).
-- I'd still keep it as offline backup later on.
- Got couple of workstations in my house.
- I'm from Poland, the hardware availability and prices might vary from newegg / amazon.
- I've got some admin experiences as former Wintel (moderate) and Linux (less), so I'd like to make some jails.
- Already had a lecture with wonderful FreeNAS Community Hardware Guide 2016-10 Rev 1e)

NAS purpose:
  • Storage w/ SMB, NFS functionalities entirely. I would like to have two "pools", where one is for "archive" purpose and second would serve as working directory between workstations.
  • To develop some extra jails serving as DNS and DHCP server (to substitute them instead of home router)
  • To place PBX (Asterisk/FreePBX(edit/correction)) server (but for extremely low usage - max 2 concurrent calls) for development/testing purposes.
Build (I also provide prices converted from PLN to USD):

Case - NZXT H440 - 122$ - https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811146217 (bought it)
Reason: A very cheap case, which has pretty good fan setup (already 3x front included). Two slots for SSD just on top of PSU and 10 HDD slots.

CPU: G4600 - 73$ (eventually i3-6300)
Question for G4600. Is it enough to handle things mentioned above? Or should jump to i3? G4600 is ~$73, while i3-6300 is twice as much.

Mobo: SuperMicro X11SSM-F (MBD-X11SSM-F-O) - 242$
Nuff said, is just everywhere on this forum and is pretty cheap.

RAM: Crucial UDIMM DDR4, 16GB 2400MHz, CL17 ECC (CT16G4WFD824A) - $224
- I don't like it costs as much as motherboard, but I don't think I can go cheaper.