First FreeNAS Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

CheckYourSix

Dabbler
Hello,

I've been lurking on this forum for a while. This will be my first FreeNAS build, but I have a lot of experience with computers in general. I've finally outgrown the disaster of individual drives I have at home and it's time to build a real NAS. I've read the guides and some other build threads so I think I've got a decent list of components here. Eventually, I'd like to add 10 gig hardware as well.

Case: Fractal Define R5 (with an extra fan)
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum Series SS-400FL2 (Per the SeaSonic calculator on the website, I only need ~270 watts at full tilt, so 400 watts seems like plenty)
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSM-F
CPU: Intel Pentium G4600 (Kabylake and supports ECC)
Memory: Kingston 32GB DDR4 ECC (2 x KVR21E15D8/16) - I'm not a fan of Kingston at all, but this seems to be the best price. I'd prefer Crucial, but it's very scarce right now
Boot: 2 x SanDisk Ultra Fit 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drives
Drives: 8 x 8TB WD Red (In RAIDZ2, Already purchased)
UPS: CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD

I'm trying to make this system last for several years or more. As I said, I'm new to FreeNAS, so I'm open to any suggestions. Some parts will be purchased from Newegg and others from Amazon based on the best price.

Thanks!

Last edited:

Stux

MVP
400W does seem a little small for 8 large drives...

When you spin up 8 drives simultaneously, it will most likely draw at least 25W for each drive, sometimes up to 36W. That's 200W right there. Add in 120W for the CPU, motherboard RAM... (CPUs run full-tilt at start too)

I would normally go for a 550W in a system this size. And I'm a fan of the Corsair RM550x, https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod...4&cm_re=corsair_rm550x-_-17-139-144-_-Product (10$ cheaper than the Seasonic 400W on Newegg, and has a 10 year warranty. They are nearly platinum efficiency at low usage levels)