FreeNAS Box Stopped Seeing Network

Status
Not open for further replies.

RandomTask

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
11
I have a FreeNAS 9.2-RELEASE-p12 box that has stopped being able to see anything on the local network (let alone the internet at large).

This box has a static IP: 192.168.2.248.

It is directly connected to a router (192.168.2.1) via an ethernet cable.

The router is serving out IPs from 192.168.2.2 to 192.168.2.100 via DHCP. There are other devices with static IPs outside that range that have access to the network and internet via this router, they are unaffected.

Attempting to ping either the router or Google results in no packets being received:
Code:
# ping -c 3 192.168.2.1
PING 192.168.2.1 (192.168.2.1): 56 data bytes

--- 192.168.2.1 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

# ping -c 3 www.google.ca #Obviously this will fail now, but the error is different
ping: cannot resolve www.google.ca: Host name lookup failure


I've gone through the automated setup to remove and re-add my interface "em0" but I still can't see anything on my local network or the internet.

Here's the contents of my /etc/resolv.conf:

Code:
search local # Is this maybe the culprit?
nameserver 192.168.2.1 # I added this just in case
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4


and the contents of my /etc/rc.conf file:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

hostname="Hades"
sshd_enable="YES"

sendmail_enable="NONE"

background_fsck="NO"
fsck_y_enable="YES"

synchronous_dhclient="YES"

ntpd_enable="YES"
ntpd_sync_on_start="YES"

vmware_guest_vmblock_enable="YES"
vmware_guest_vmhgfs_enable="YES"
vmware_guest_vmmemctl_enable="YES"
vmware_guest_vmxnet_enable="YES"
vmware_guestd_enable="YES"

syslogd_flags="-s -C"

devfs_system_ruleset="usbrules"

clear_tmp_X="NO"

ataidle_enable="YES"

geli_autodetach="NO"

dumpdev="AUTO"
dumpdir="/data/crash"
ix_textdump_enable="YES"

early_kld_list="geom_stripe geom_raid3 geom_raid5 geom_gate geom_multipath"

kld_list="dtraceall if_cxgbe"

pbid_enable="YES"

dbus_enable="YES"
mdnsd_enable="YES"

watchdogd_enable="YES"

performance_cpu_freq="HIGH"

vboxnet_enable="YES"

local_startup="/etc/ix.rc.d /usr/local/etc/rc.d"

early_late_divider="*"
nginx_enable="YES"


The output from ifconfig:
Code:
em0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
       options=42098<VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC,VLAN_HWTSO>
       ether 90:2b:34:56:3f:56
       inet 192.168.2.248 net mask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       media: Ethernet autoselect
       status: no carrier

alc0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
       options=c3198<VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TS04,WOL_MCAST,WOL_MAGIC,VLAN_HWTSO,LINKSTATE>
       ether 90:2b:34:56:3f:46
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
       status: no carrier

ipfw0: flags=8800<SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 65536
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>

lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
       options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
       inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
       inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scooped 0x6
       inet 127.0.0.1 net mask 0xff000000
       nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>

bridge0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
       ether 02:94:eb:53:ce:00
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
       manage 20 holdcnt 6 proto stp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200
       root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
       member: epair1a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
              ifmaxaddr 0 port 9 priority 128 path cost 2000
       member: epair0a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
              ifmaxaddr 0 port 8 priority 128 path cost 2000
       member: em0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
              ifmaxaddr 0 port 1 priority 128 path cost 2000000

epair0a: flags=8942<BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
       options=8<VLAN_MTU>
       ether 02:45:90:00:08:0a
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
       status: active

epair1a: flags=8942<BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=8<VLAN_MTU>
       ether 02:aa:ac:00:09:0a
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
       status: active



Any help would be much appreciated! I'm typically a fairly decent Linux guy, but am slowly learning the nuances of BSD!
 
Last edited:

RandomTask

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
11
Sorry for the delay, I don't have access to my box during the day (hoping to fix that eventually with VPN).

Here's the output of ifconfig:
Code:
em0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
       options=42098<VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC,VLAN_HWTSO>
       ether 90:2b:34:56:3f:56
       inet 192.168.2.248 net mask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       media: Ethernet autoselect
       status: no carrier

alc0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
       options=c3198<VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TS04,WOL_MCAST,WOL_MAGIC,VLAN_HWTSO,LINKSTATE>
       ether 90:2b:34:56:3f:46
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
       status: no carrier

ipfw0: flags=8800<SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 65536
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>

lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
       options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
       inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
       inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scooped 0x6
       inet 127.0.0.1 net mask 0xff000000
       nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>

bridge0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
       ether 02:94:eb:53:ce:00
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
       manage 20 holdcnt 6 proto stp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200
       root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
       member: epair1a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
              ifmaxaddr 0 port 9 priority 128 path cost 2000
       member: epair0a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
              ifmaxaddr 0 port 8 priority 128 path cost 2000
       member: em0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
              ifmaxaddr 0 port 1 priority 128 path cost 2000000

epair0a: flags=8942<BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
       options=8<VLAN_MTU>
       ether 02:45:90:00:08:0a
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
       status: active

epair1a: flags=8942<BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISE,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=8<VLAN_MTU>
       ether 02:aa:ac:00:09:0a
       nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
       media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
       status: active


I've also updated my initial post with this information.
 

RandomTask

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
11
One other thing I just noticed (that I didn't notice initially) is that I'm seeing the following error message:
Code:
Jul 8 20:26:20 Hades nmbd[2819]: [2016/07/08 20:26:20.960120,0] ../source3/libsmb/nmblib.c:873(send_udp)
Jul 8 20:26:20 Hades nmbd[2819]: Packet send failed to 182.168.2.255(138) ERRNO=No buffer space available
 
D

dlavigne

Guest
Do you remember which driver you were using or is plugged into the network. Right now, neither em0 or alc0 has a carrier...
 

RandomTask

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
11
I haven't manually configured anything for this box all I've done is Option #1 in the quick start menu (the 1-11 console menu after FreeNAS is booted). In theory it should all be automatic.
 
D

dlavigne

Guest
That's not going to help if you don' t have a carrier... Check the cables, the switch, etc.
 

RandomTask

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
11
I don't understand why anything would have changed. I haven't changed anything on this box. I believe there have been a couple small power outages (off and back on again).

I'll try using a different cable and report back.
 

joeschmuck

Old Man
Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
10,994
Here are some obvious steps you may have already taken...

1) Cycle power on your Router
2) Replace the Cat 5/6 cable (yes, these can and do go bad)
3) Try a different Router port

Edit: Yea, someone beat me to this. I'm a slow typier.
 

RandomTask

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
11
Thanks so much for the help! I can't believe it was something that simple - I could have sworn I checked that already.

It turns out the port on my router wasn't responding, as soon as I tried another it worked!

Sorry for taking up everyone's time for such a silly issue!
 

RandomTask

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
11
Although now my FreeNAS web management page looks like this:

Unhandled Exception
An unhandled exception was thrown by the application.

The error in my console is:
Code:
kernel: Failed to write core file for process nmbd (error 14)


I'm restarting the box now just to see if it helps at all - nope. /sigh I might just have to re-install FreeNAS.

Anyone know if I could save out a config or something so I don't have to re-do everything from scratch (shares, jails, etc.)
 
Last edited:

joeschmuck

Old Man
Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
10,994
When it rains it pours.
 

RandomTask

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
11
Well, I have no idea what happened, I thought I restarted the box but it turns out it was still in the process of rebooting (yet somehow the browser was still fetching the page during this process???).

Any who, thanks everyone for your help, I seem to be back up and running!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top