SOLVED FreeNAS 9.10.2 install does not boot on HP Microserver

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalie Cooper

Dabbler
Hi can someone please help me here.. I am struggling to get FreeNas installed on my server... I made the image from ISO using Win32Imager and put the memory key in to boot.. However the system does not boot, Just after POST the message on the screen says "no Signal" which looks like its not seeing the thumbdrive AS BOOTABLE. I have tried everything Used RUFUS, Win32Imager and even tried different USB Keys, but to no avail.

I have been able to successfully boot other OS's in the same way, Linux, Windows 2012 Server, as well as even NAS4Free but for some reason it just does not even get to a stage where it can allow me to continue.

The server I am using is an HP MicroServer G7 N36L. Its from about 2011. I have just this weekend updated the bios to the latest it had (2013) but still nothing.

PLEASE HELP I am new to this and very confused.

#destresseddamsel

Last edited:

styno

Patron
I guess you just booted into a Linux live environment. Gparted is an application that you need to start first. See if you can select it from the list of applications in the GUI or open a terminal and just type 'gparted' on the shell prompt.

Once you are 'in' the application, you have to navigate to the FreeNAS USB stick and change the boot flags as described above and then save the changes.

All this is assuming you are hitting the same issue as we did, maybe now is a good time to ensure this is the case before you start to fiddle with partition parameters on your box.

Last edited by a moderator:

Natalie Cooper

Dabbler