First FreeNAS Build

Carpenter99

Cadet
Good Afternoon

This is my first time building a NAS and was hoping for some advice and opinions on the build I set Up. If anyone has any advice or recommendations that would be greatly appreciated.

CPU: Intel - Xeon E3-1230 V5 3.4 GHz Quad-Core Processor Here
Motherboard: Supermicro - MBD-X11SSM-F-O Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard Here
Memory: 2X Crucial - 16 GB (1 x 16 GB) DDR4-2666 Memory Here
Storage: 4X Western Digital - Red 4 TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive Here
Case: Fractal Design - Node 804 MicroATX Mid Tower Case Here
Power Supply: SeaSonic - FOCUS Plus Gold 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply Here

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Storage: 4X Western Digital - Red 4 TB 3.5" 5400RPM
What type of pool configuration had you planned?

All these components look fine. You just need to decide on boot media. I suggest using a small SSD. USB drives are not very reliable.

Carpenter99

Cadet
I will be sure to add an ssd for the boot media. I'm not really sure what pool configuration is?

Inxsible

Guru
I will be sure to add an ssd for the boot media. I'm not really sure what pool configuration is?
You need to read up a lot on ZFS and FreeNAS in general before you go about buying all the hardware. It might turn out that FreeNAS might not be for you.

As of now, a pool configuration needs to be determined up front because it cannot be modified without nuking your data and rebuilding the whole pool. So if you choose a pool configuration which does not work for you 3 months later, you are pretty much screwed since you have to start over fresh. No off the fly changes allowed with the pool configuration.

E.Marquez

Dabbler
What type of pool configuration had you planned?
Are you speaking to this in your "What type of pool configuration had you planned" ?
Creating a ZFS pool
We can create a ZFS pool using different devices as:
a. using whole disks
b. using disk slices
c. using files