Sanity Check for my FreeNAS Build Please

zeebee

Explorer
Hi there,

I'm looking to replace a 10 year old single-drive QNAP that deserves to enjoy its retirement. I've never used FreeNAS before, but I installed it in a VM to play around and I'm very impressed. The new system will be used to store data (files, family photos), entertainment media (probably via plex), and security camera recordings (probably via zoneminder or shinobi).

Here's where I'm at:

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 V6 3.5 GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard: Asus P10S-M WS Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Memory: Crucial 16 GB (1 x 16 GB) DDR4-2666 Memory
Memory: Crucial 16 GB (1 x 16 GB) DDR4-2666 Memory
Storage: Western Digital Green 120 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Storage: Western Digital Green 120 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Storage: Western Digital Red 4 TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive
Case: Fractal Design Define R6 ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply: SeaSonic FOCUS Plus Gold 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply

It's coming out at a little more than I wanted to spend, but I'm not too worried if it's going to be a decent system (i.e. I don't want it to be underpowered for plex/camera streams). I've had some trouble with availability of server-style parts as I'm in Australia and they seem to be harder to source here than in the USA (e.g. I spent some time looking at Supermicro boards).

I'm thinking a RaidZ2 configuration, with the SSDs used for mirrored boot. I believe I'd get 8TB of usable storage from that.

I know the board isn't quite as 'server' as it could be, but I do like that it has display-port (I have no VGA cables/monitors anymore), and it doesn't bother me too much that it has audio, since it could be repurposed some day in a desktop machine. That said, if there was another option that I can source down under I'd definitely look at it.

Any advice you can give is much appreciated!

Jessep

Patron