Emby Docker Image Install

sp3tsnaz

Cadet
Happy New Year everyone, hoping this is a fairly simple question (even if the answer might be that it's not possible yet being an Alpha release).

I recently had a stuff up in my TrueNAS CORE install, so instead of bothering with a re-install I figured I'd get my self future proof with SCALE. So far have managed to get it all to work on my HP Microserver box, with ability to connect from Windows, but now am trying to install an Emby Server on the system.

There isn't a pre installed app yet (like for Plex), so first, are these initiated by the developers from the other app end, or from your end? It doesn't sound like anyone in the Dev team on Emby forums is using TrueNAS, so they don't seem to test it a lot.

If not, from what I gather there is a way to install the files manually through the Docker Image? (https://hub.docker.com/r/emby/embyserver)
I have no linux experience so hoping someone can provide some instructions on what I need to put in the various fields in the installer for this to work? Or is that not how Docker works?

Not in a massive hurry, as happy to just use Windows Share for the time being, so happy to wait for the RC next year, and also ask on the Emby forums if needed.

Thanks.

KrisBee

Wizard
Happy New Year to you. Seems like a brave decision to jump from TrueNAS CORE to TrueNAS SCALE for someone with limited linux/docker experience when SCALE is in a state fo flux. Not sure why you think this is "future proofing" when iXsystesm have repeatedly stressed FreeBSD based products are not going away, There are lots of forum threads with help/hints about getting Emby Server up and runing either as plugin or in a manually created jail in FreeNAS & TrueNAS CORE. I'd be inclined to sort out the stuff up and stick with TrueNAS CORE.

ornias

Wizard