Different Storage Screens

ChuckCorvec

Cadet
Hello

I am very new to TrueNas so please bare with me. After completing the initial set up, Create A pool and Datasets I end up with the following on my Storage Tab
Screenshot 2023-10-13 at 11.47.07 PM.png

And if I click Manage Data Sets I get the following

Screenshot 2023-10-13 at 11.49.59 PM.png

What is missing is the ability to drill down into the folders that are in each dataset. I have watched a lot of videos with different tutorials on how to set up TrueNas and most of them end up with the following after creating datasets and folders. This is only an example

Screenshot 2023-10-13 at 11.52.13 PM.png

Note the navigation arrows beside the datasets. I know this is petty but I can not figure out how to accomplish this.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2023-10-13 at 11.49.59 PM.png
    Screenshot 2023-10-13 at 11.49.59 PM.png
    391.6 KB · Views: 54

Arwen

MVP
TrueNAS' GUI is for the FILESYSTEMS and POOLS, not any directories / folders you would want to create below the filesystems, (aka Datasets in ZFS terminology).

You would create shares, Samba or NFS, on those filesystems, (but NOT the top level filesystem / pool). Mount the share on your PC or laptop. Then, you can create all the directories / folders you want.

Their have been requests in the past to add a tool like Midnight Commander, or other GUI based file view to TrueNAS. But, that is somewhat out of scope for a NAS, NETWORK Attached Storage server.

If that is not what you meant, please clarify.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Their have been requests in the past to add a tool like Midnight Commander
Midnight Commander has been in TrueNAS for some time, but of course it isn't part of the web UI. iX has "accepted" a feature request to include a web-based file manager, but that was (IIRC) three years ago, so no idea when we'll actually see it.

NugentS

MVP
If using Scale - then add the filebrowser app.

Arwen

MVP