Need help with permissions

jbarry14

Explorer
I am fairly new to TrueNas. I have TrueNAS-13.0-U5.3 installed.

We are a small design company. I have multiple users, both windows and mac. Our original server was a drobo. I built a TrueNAS core server and transferred all of the data over. Our server is about 7TiB of many folders and smaller files. I have had constant issues with permissions. I have tried multiple different things, and always come up with random issues saving over files, editing files, saving new files in a folder, etc. I have every computer currently logged in with the same username and password.

I would like an easy way to open the dataset to everyone on the network. To be able to go to any computer and save, edit, delete files without permissions problems popping up. I have tried following other guides and still end up with permissions problems.

I would appreciate any advice on how to get this problem resolved. Thanks in advance.

Go to the pool section in the GUI and find the data you are trying to access in this way. What user and group owns the data?

Id suggest allowing whatever user and group you are using to map the shares and to connect full control and own the files (datasets) in the pool in question. I assume that this is what you mean when all computers using same login (Truenas user)? You generally accomplish this by selecting the correct user (and group?) the apply permissions to both user and group recursively, and traverse option if there are child datasets. But you do have to be careful when doing this and be sure its the right data. It will warn you. Do some manual snapshots etc. Any new users you add just keep adding them to the same group.

jbarry14

Explorer
Go to the pool section in the GUI and find the data you are trying to access in this way. What user and group owns the data?