data-rot and filesystems

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnblanker

Explorer
Is data-rot all that common? I am relatively new to NAS and server systems. It seems there are 3 common filesystems that have protection for data rot, ZFS, BtrFS, and ReFS (Windows). Are all these created equal?

I am in the stages of researching which NAS OS is right for me. All I need is to serve movie ISOs on my network. Just simple SMB or NFS shares. The data rot thing does have me concerned though.

Why is it all these NAS units (Synology, Qnap, etc) do not have support for dealing with data-rot? None of these users care? I see the Drobo units have data rot support but I have been reading a ton of bad things about Drobo units.

I am currently looking at unRAID with BtrFS as a possible NAS OS. One member on the unRAID forum suggested going with XFS over BtrFS and that there are checksums that can be used for data rot detection with XFS. Does that just check for errors or heal them?

Just wanted to get some ideas for you power users.

Thanks.

mattbbpl

Patron
I don't have all the answers to this question, but to chime in on a few pieces:

Checksums detect data rot errors, and parity is used to correct them. It is my understanding that both must be present in order to correct bit rot issues. (How can checksums repair the data if it doesn't have a verifiably correct copy of the data to pull from? How can parity tell which copy of the data is correct if there isn't a checksum to verify that?)

"Why is it all these NAS units (Synology, Qnap, etc) do not have support for dealing with data-rot? None of these users care?"