Choosing Discs: Consistency vs. Off-Site Backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

Des

Cadet
Hi,

I am new to FreeNas and ZFS and am considering to move there. I have experience running several servers at work. I am currently re-thinking my storage and backup strategy at home. It seems that I have to decide between Raid2 for my data or offsite backup for my data.

My situation:
- 6 Desktop/Laptop devices of family members that run backups to my NAS.
- Besides these Backups, the NAS stores data (documents, pictures, videos, etc)
- Total requirement is about 1TB at the moment. I expect it to 2tb for the next couple of years.

I have two WD red 3TB and one WD green 2TB (plus two other 1TB discs) available. I won't be able to spend more money the next time, so I am set with this.

Offsite-Backups are important for me. So far, I was running a one-disc nas (ext4) and running nightly rsyncs to a separate disc. I was rotating the separate disc offsite on a monthly basis.

That worked very well for me, but I was having trouble with silent corruption which I did notice by accident. I was able to recover, but anyway, I want to to address silent corruption, bit rot or whatever.

It seems that I have to decide between redundancy with raid2 and offsite. I was thinking to choose offsite:

A) Run the NAS with ZFS on a single disc only. Run nightly rsync or use zfs/send to get the data to a second disc. I will rotate this disc with a third one offsite. This will work as long as my data is below 2tb which is fine for the next years. I am aware of the fact that ZFS will not be able to heal corrupt data. I assume that I can get back the files from my backup (second built in or the older one offsite)? But I assume that I can get notified on curruption and that there is no "silent corruption"?