Considering building a TrueNAS machine for a local historian/writer

Bikerchris

Patron
Hello all,

Well I've had a few years experience with FreeNAS/TrueNAS now, so I thought about applying TrueNAS to someone other than myself.

I know of a local historian/writer who's only backup is Backblaze, which I set him up with (running on Win10 on his main computer) as he previously only had an external USB drive which failed after 2 years and left him with no real backup. He has a rarely used laptop as well.

He has around 400GB of files, including documents, past and historical photographs (family and book related).

I'm looking for the bare minimum of cost while adhering to the recommended config, so I thought of the following and very much welcome thoughts:

CPU: Intel i3-9100F
MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte C246M-WU4 (Intel NICs)
RAM: 1 x 16GB ECC UDIMM 2400 (Crucial)
PSU: Corsair CX450M (450W)
STORAGE: 2 x Mirrored 2TB Ironwolf 3.5"
BOOT: 1 x Kingston 240GB DC1000B
UPS: 600VA Riello (the one I have on mine and it works/communicates perfectly with TrueNAS)

Because I've known him for 15-20 years, I'm offering to only add a little bit extra for my time, but the 'at cost' price is around £800 ($1100).

I was going to suggest continued use of BackBlaze, but using the B2 option.

I'm likely to install Plex so that he can view video/photos on his television, as his wife has mobility issues and his study isn't a comfortable room to sit in. I did a test install of this and all appeared to work very well.

For transparency, I am going to suggest to him that a Synology box would be adequate and likely half the price, but it does come with many disadvantages that would only be apparent in the event of a partial or complete failure.

Look forward to any comments you might have. It's a real shame that the newer Intel CPU's are lacking ECC support.

Thanks,

Chris

danb35

Hall of Famer