Need Advice for a stubborn co-worker

Status
Not open for further replies.

stock2255

Cadet
Hey guys,

I have some experience with FreeNAS, but this post comes more from me being worried about a friend's FreeNAS build. I'm going to try to go into detail since he is a intelligent, smart man, who I presume is IT savvy (numerous Comptia certifications, bachelor of Computer Sciences, etc) He got off on a great start, for hardware, here is the base:

Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4001LUX (comes with a 280w 80+ Bronze PSU, but we have a 500w 80+ EVGA power supply with proper adapter we can put in as well)
Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB
16GB Hynix Unbuffered ECC RAM
9210-8I-LSI-8-PORT-6GBPS
5 x TOSHIBA PH3200U-1I72 2TB 7200 RPM (these have been in our storage for a while, still in box, so he got these for $30 a piece. Never opened, never use. 3 year warranty apparently)
Samsung 850 evo 120GB (this is another spare part he wants to use out of a Windows Server build he was playing with)

He wants to use FreeNAS as a storage and plex server for his family, putting the hard drives into a Raidz2 array on the 9210-8i-LSI card. Now that the overview is over, let me voice my concerns.

1) Is there any issue using the 5 Toshiba 2TB hds? They are brand new and never powered on, and he'll run a deep check on all of them before putting them into use.
2) I told him he could simply use a good external flash drive to boot FreeNAS off. He wants to use the old SSD. I've searched the forums and have seen some slight performance enhancements, but it seems like a waste of his SSD.