Building First Budget NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

xamus

Cadet
Hi there. I'm new to building and setting up a NAS and I've been doing alot of research on either buying a pre-built or building my own. Before I begin, I would like to say that I've read through the FAQs, but none seem to sufficiently answer my questions. The hardware thread seems for hardcore or serious enthusiasts and that is not what I'm looking for.

I'm looking to build the best bang for buck NAS under $300. That being said, the goal of this NAS is to backup my MacBook Pro and desktop PC, backup my personal memory media, and create a media server to stream to my PC, Mac, iPhone, and PS3. I've heard issues with Mac compatibility and wondering if that's still an issue. The plan is to start with at least 2 drives and work my way up to 4 then eventually more as my media library expands. I'm not sure if a form of RAID would be recommended for my situation or if I need ZFS.

Here is my AMD build: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/xamus21/saved/nDPgXL
Here is my Intel build: http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/xamus21/saved/HpCFf7

Any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi there. I'm new to building and setting up a NAS and I've been doing alot of research on either buying a pre-built or building my own. Before I begin, I would like to say that I've read through the FAQs, but none seem to sufficiently answer my questions. The hardware thread seems for hardcore or serious enthusiasts and that is not what I'm looking for.