Cheap Pre-built NAS or Budget NAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

copache

Cadet
Hello everyone, I'm completely new to FreeNAS so excuse me if this a dumb question. I am considering building a NAS server to use mainly to serve media to XBMC on my Raspberry Pi. I also want to do time machine backups, set up a shared iTunes library between my mac and pc, and set up ownCloud.

My question is, if I want to set up a 4TB FreeNAS server on the cheap, can I use a low-end pre-built nas like this Shuttle 2-bay NAS or a Synology 2 bay NAS and boot into FreeNAS? Is this effective or am I better off building my own machine? I basically want to know what is the cheapest way to set up a low-capacity server that is relatively quiet and has low power consumption.

Thanks for helping out a noob

Whattteva

Wizard
They both only have 256 MB of RAM, so that's pretty much immediate no.
I can also tell you that building yourself a proper FreeNAS system will cost you much more than the price listed on those two links.

Looking at your question tells me immediately that you did not even bother to read the stickies for noobs.
Please do take a bit of your time to read through those posts. A lot of your questions that you otherwise would ask (like this one) will be answered there.

Whattteva

Wizard
If you had actually checked out his links, you will realize that his definition of "cheap, budget" build is around $100.00-$200.00 (diskless), which totally makes the FreeNAS (over $1000.00) mini way out of his budget.
Even after adding 4x WD RED 1TB (that the FreeNAS mini includes) the total of the system in his link + the drives would still not exceed $500.00. Hence, why I didn't even bother to suggest any solution (FreeNAS mini or homebrew) because either way will just totally exceed his budget by way too much, at least for a proper system.