FreeNAS Custom-Built NAS for Plex Media Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guinea

Explorer
I am very new to the FreeNAS idea. I used a QNAP NAS for awhile and ran my Plex Media Server on it. I am now looking at building a custom built NAS to serve a new home I am building. I am aiming for a rackmount setup and looking to use FreeNAS and potentially ZFS for my setup, as I have heard a lot of recommendations for it.

I am very new to these concepts and wanted to know what the recommended configuration would be for my goal. My build is as follows (so far):
  • Chassis - iStarUSA D-380HN
  • Motherboard - SUPERMICRO X10SRM-TF Micro ATX
  • CPU - Intel Xeon E5-2630 V4
  • RAM - Crucial CT16G4RFD4213 16GB 288-Pin DDR4 2133 Server Memory (x2 - 32GB)
  • PSU - SeaSonic X Series X-850 (SS-850KM3 Active PFC F3) 850W
  • HDD's - WD Red 8TB (x8)
I am still shopping for the HDDs and I am still on the fence about that chassis. I prefer the HGST DeskStar HDDs but they are pricey, unless I went with 4TB models. The chassis is really nice looking aesthetically, but the limitation of 3U space, 80mm fans, and only 8 bays might harm my futureproofing and noise and cooling in that chassis. I am looking for advice on this and what the ZFS configuration would be for an ideal setup.

Basically I am planning to run this as a purely Plex Media Server. I am planning to serve up 1:1 ripped Blu-rays to a home theater system in lossless format (hence the beefy specs) and also stream to 3-4 TVs throughout the house and have the ability to transcode if necessary without any loss of quality. The home theater is the primary quality focus, but you get the idea.