Broadcom 9600W-16e not supported (yet)?

zormik

Dabbler
Hello,
I just ordered a new server (supermicro SYS-110D-8C-FRAN8TP) to run Truenas Scale and i installed the broadcom 9600W-16e in it. Besides struggling a bit with getting it installed (had to do it trough installing Truenas Core first and the change train) it seems like Truenas Scale does not recognize my hba-controller. Is there anyway i could fix this?

Thanks and nice to meet you all,

Zormik

P.S. I have some experience running Truenas as i've been running core for about 7 years.

Is the card cooled properly? There's a minimum airflow specification (200 LFM @ 55°C). If you touch the heatsink and it's hot you have a problem. (The spec. is 3.3 linear feet per second, which might seem near impossible, however if considering a 3" card height and 1" width in front of the heatsink that's 2.3 miles/hour, so quite realistic depending on the box setup, there must be airflow over the heatsink.)

Can you boot into the card's BIOS during system boot (before the OS loads) (pg 25)?

Does the card's BIOS report finding drives?

There is software for running further diagnostics and extracting/injecting BIOS and other information.

Last edited:

zormik

Dabbler
Hey, Thank you for your reply.
Yes the card is cooled properly and doesn't get hot (the server has a crazy amount of airflow). I can see the card in the BIOS / UEFI and i can see how many disks are attached to it.

What BIOS is the Broadcom/LSI card running? If it's MegaRAID or Enhanced Host Bus Adapter (eHBA) that's not going to go well (eHBA is simple mirroring RAID). You want an IT BIOS. IT is an LSI firmware that has no RAID functionality in it, it simply passes through the disks to the host by default.

zormik

Dabbler
The 9600W-16e is a pure HBA card and doesn't have raid functionality. It's connected to a JBOD.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Can you check to see if the card is probed correctly?

Go to console and type

# dmesg | grep ^mp | less