better UPS interface

Status
Not open for further replies.

human

Dabbler
Hi,

This is the rationale for my suggestion... (the actual suggestion is in the paragraph that follows this complaining... feel free to skip ahead at any time : - )

... The UPS interface is not good. I'm an experienced support technician, I'm literate, although not experienced with what's going on in the background here... not really competent in linux/unix/BSD, but you know, eager to learn, but in the mean time just want my NAS to work, right... So this interface is not self-explanatory. I'm guessing which USB port to specify, I'm guessing which driver to specify, and meanwhile, I have no idea what to put in the username and password fields. The password is currently set to "fixmepass". LOL. Even the interface is begging to be fixed. Yes I would fix the pass, but I have no idea what to fix it to. I look at stuff in the window-with-no-name that pops up when I click in that area on the bottom of the screen (I suggest giving it a more concise name if it doesn't already have one, and then putting that name in the title bar of the window... UI elements should have names, it helps users to be less confused in their communications) and well I can't really figure out a lot from that stuff, other than it is obviously not working... it says stuff like... okay... I want to copy and paste a snippit but the click and drag selection doesn't seem to quite work in that window in firefox... okay let me try IE... nope, same... Safari... okay... there we go... I can highlight stuff now. okay let's recurse back to where I was... which was... oh yeah... the terminal log file window with no name thingy says stuff like:

freenas notifier: nut not running? (check /var/db/nut/upsd.pid).

and

freenas notifier: Fatal error: unusable configuration

and

freenas notifier: Unable to open /dev/ugen0.4: No such file or directory