Bad luck or bad configuration? Guidance needed with repetitive SMART error Hard drive failure...

Smpd_77

Cadet
I have recently built a FreeNas (converting a media centre PC and using its components) and adding the NAS drives. I am new to FreeNas and I wanted to make this a media centre NAS – this is my first build.

Core components are;

Fractal Design Node 304 Mini ITX Case

Thermaltake Litepower 650W PSU

MSI B450I GAMING PLUS AC AM4 DDR4 mITX Motherboard

ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 256GB M.2 Gaming Solid State Drive (SSD)

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 6 Core AM4 CPU/Processor

Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 2400 DIMM Memory

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4GB Graphics Card

Toshiba N300 8TB High-Reliability NAS Hard Drive x4

Everything seemed to be going fine on the system and I started to copy data to it and then around 48 hrs in I had two critical errors show on one of the drives.

Device: /dev/ada1, FAILED SMART self-check. BACK UP DATA NOW!.

and

Device: /dev/ada1, Failed SMART usage Attribute: 7 Seek_Error_Rate..

I called the supplier and explained, and they agreed that the drive was faulty and to return the drive, sending about 10 days later a replacement drive (same as before). I put the drive in (I had scrubbed and created the pool from new and again 48 hrs later the same thing occurred on the replacement drive that was sent.

I am now in the process of retuning that drive – as agreed with the supplier.

In the meantime I ordered the same drive from Amazon as it was next day – (don’t hold it against me!) and thinking I may have a dodgy sata cable I replaced it and swapped it over with one of the other drives that has been working fine.

This time I off lined the drive and replaced as per the FreeNas instructions, re-silvered and off I went – copying my data over to the NAS. Again 48 hrs later the drive is showing as failed – same smart errors and on the replaced disk only?