SOLVED Avoid flashing of SAS card?

QWeelon

Cadet
Hello World!

I'm fairly new to the TrueNAS scene after running raid disks in windows. Consider me an idiot when it comes to Linux, DOS or general coding, I just want something that works with minimal maintenance.

I've got my rig up and running now with 4 disk connected to the motherboard and is now in need of increasing the amount of available SATA ports to connect the remaining drives. I've been looking into using a SAS card, namely the LSI SAS9211 8i controller card as I've seen many post recommending it for similar setups. The concern I see here is regarding possible need for flashing of the card to get it in IT mode.

I see a risk here as it's not really straightforward for me how to proceed with, even with a Guide there seems to be possible risks and problems. Preferably, I would like to avoid this procedure and as far as I've understood the card might be working without flashing to IT mode or it might even be in IT mode from the start.

What I'm wondering is,
  • How do I determine, preferably through TrueNAS WebGUI, if the controller card is in IT mode and what version it is running?
  • Are there any other recommended SAS HBA cards where flashing isn't needed?
  • Are there any other options that might be worth looking into? Would a regular sata controller card work, any recommendations?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
there seems to be possible risks and problems.

Yes. We've done dozens, maybe hundreds, here in the shop over the years. It's a bit of a PITA, even when you have all the right toolsets available.

might be working without flashing to IT mode

You don't want that. You are then afoul of issues mentioned in

because if it isn't in IT/IR mode, then it's in MFI RAID mode.

preferably through TrueNAS WebGUI, if the controller card is in IT mode and what version it is running