Anyone using Fractal Design "Define Mini" case for micro-ATX?

Status
Not open for further replies.

muffinMan

Dabbler
I'm looking for a tower enclosure for my first build with a Supermicro X11SSM (micro-ATX). Where I want to put the NAS (against a wall), makes the Fractal Design Node 804 a bit too bulky. I'm looking at the Define R6, which almost seems like overkill because I'm not looking to utilize any expansion slots or extensive cooling systems. Is anyone using the Define Mini? It's a bit smaller and cheaper. My pool will be 6x HDDs, so the only difference with going with the Define Mini is that I think it doesn't have separate bays/mounting for a boot SSD like the R6 does. Anyone using this enclosure? Looking for input. Thanks!

DaLAW1

Cadet
I’ve been using that case for a couple of years. It has space under the Hard Drive Sleds for an SDD mounted with Velcro or you can do what I did and just drill out the holes needed to mount the SDD. It also has two 5.25 inch drive bays, so you could put it there too. Really the only problem I had with this case was I needed to put two 120mm Fans in the front to cool my 6 HGST Hard Drives, as they were getting a little warm for my liking. Now they run at 30 degC at 20 degC ambient.

muffinMan

Dabbler
I’ve been using that case for a couple of years. It has space under the Hard Drive Sleds for an SDD mounted with Velcro or you can do what I did and just drill out the holes needed to mount the SDD. It also has two 5.25 inch drive bays, so you could put it there too. Really the only problem I had with this case was I needed to put two 120mm Fans in the front to cool my 6 HGST Hard Drives, as they were getting a little warm for my liking. Now they run at 30 degC at 20 degC ambient.

Was it easy to add fans? Would you advise I pick up fans right off the bat? It looks like the R6 has fans mounted in the front already.

DaLAW1

Cadet