AIO ESXi+FreeNAS Whitebox Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wizman87

Cadet
Hello, there!

I'm really new to the FreeNAS forums and wanted to personally thank everyone for all of their support here. FreeNAS is a really great community and I've been learning quite a lot from everybody!

With that said, I had a couple of questions in regards to my upcoming all-in-one (AIO) whitebox build. My current plan is to run ESXi bare-metal, virtualize FreeNAS on top of ESXi, emphasize redundancy, and leave room for future expansion in my home lab testing environment. At this time, I have already bought most of my hardware, and am now down to choosing a hardware RAID controller, host bus adapter (HBA), and two solid-state drives (SSDs). Before I continue with any questions though, here's my current build:

-Server Build-
-In Progress-
  • Solid State Drives: 32-512GB (2x???GB)
  • Hardware RAID Controller: ???
  • Host Bus Adapter: ???
-Requirements-
  1. Run enterprise-grade SSDs in RAID 1 for ESXi + FreeNAS + local VMs and datastores.
  2. Run six HDDs in RAID-Z2 using HBA pass-through to FreeNAS for replication, data backups, media, etc.
  3. Hardware RAID controller must be compatible with ESXi, have battery backed up cache (BBU), must support SATA 6Gb/s, and optionally support 2 or more SSDs and >4TB HDDs.
  4. Host Bus Adapter must be compatible with HBA pass-through for FreeNAS, have battery backed up cache (BBU), and must support SATA 6Gb/s, 6 or more HDDs, and >4TB HDDs.
-Optional Requirements-