Zvol Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

sidisalim

Cadet
I am a newbie to FN. I just setup FN v11. I setup a Zvol and Configured iSCSI for my ESXI host. I was able to add a datastore and connect successfully. I also successfully migrated a couple of VMs. I am just curious about where the VM files are store on the Zvol I created. How is the data stored? Any details you can provide are appreciated.

Thanks,

Stux

MVP
I am a newbie to FN. I just setup FN v11. I setup a Zvol and Configured iSCSI for my ESXI host. I was able to add a datastore and connect successfully. I also successfully migrated a couple of VMs. I am just curious about where the VM files are store on the Zvol I created. How is the data stored? Any details you can provide are appreciated.

Thanks,

The VM files are stored *in* the zvol. The zvol is a virtual block device, ie like a harddrive, and ESXi treats it as a harddrive. Theoretically you could mount the zvol in a different OS which understands VMFS, and see the files. If you actually want to see the files, then you will need to use NFS instead of iSCSI, or use the ESXi databrowser.

So, in that virtual block device, ESXi formats it as VMFS, then creates VMDKs, which it then passes to your VMs...

sidisalim

Cadet
Thanks for the Clarification Stux!

I setup the Volume as a Zvol vs. NFS based on some comments I saw on a FN forum talking about poor performance with NFS. Can you confirm as well?

Also. What would be a good use case for me to setup datasets based on my Zvol config? Are there any benefits with Datasets?

- I have 2 (3 TB) Drives / Mirrored
- I am only using 1 TB for the first Zvol (The one that ESXI is connected to via iSCSI)

Any thoughts on that would be great.

Thanks in advance!

IceBoosteR

Guru
Hi,