Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

ZFS scrub stuck, and won't continue

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChipKng

Neophyte
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
6
Hello,

I google'd a lot but cannot find any solution to my problem:
The ZFS scrubbing stuck at 56.66% and does not continue:
Code:
root@freenas:~ # zpool status -v Prim
  pool: Prim
 state: ONLINE
status: Some supported features are not enabled on the pool. The pool can
		still be used, but some features are unavailable.
action: Enable all features using 'zpool upgrade'. Once this is done,
		the pool may no longer be accessible by software that does not support
		the features. See zpool-features(7) for details.
  scan: scrub in progress since Sun Dec 24 00:00:03 2017
		3.72T scanned at 922K/s, 3.62T issued at 0/s, 6.38T total
		0 repaired, 56.66% done, no estimated completion time
config:

		NAME										  STATE	 READ WRITE CKSUM
		Prim										  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
		  gptid/848a2c20-462d-11e2-a28f-009c02abd968  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
		  gptid/46c3259e-46d4-11e2-ae03-009c02abd968  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
		  gptid/7432c6a3-51a4-11e2-9357-009c02abd968  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
		  gptid/4ce2c4c0-4e33-11e3-b6c9-009c02abd968  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0

errors: No known data errors



When I try to stop it from command line, it does not do anything and the prompt does not come back. When I try to delete anything from that pool, it removes the file, but the prompt does not come back and the space is not freed up.
Anybody can help? What can I do? I tried rebooting the system: the system won't shut down. It stuck, I have to use the power switch.

Any suggestion are welcome. Thanks in advance!

edit: I'm using Freenas 11.1-RELEASE version.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rs225

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
878
This seems to be a bug. Moving back to a prior version of FreeNAS is the solution at the moment.
 

danb35

Wizened Sage
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
11,947
That sounds like my experience exactly.
 

ChipKng

Neophyte
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
6
This seems to be a bug. Moving back to a prior version of FreeNAS is the solution at the moment.
Seems this option will not work as well:
Code:
Request Method: 	 POST 	
	
	 Request URL: 	 http://192.168.1.200/system/bootenv/activate/11.0-U4/ 	
	
	 Software Version: 	 FreeNAS-11.1-RELEASE (dc7d195f4) 	
	
	 Exception Type: 	 CallTimeout 	
	
	 Exception Value: 	
Call timeout
	 	
	 Exception Location: 	 /usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/client/client.py in call, line 389 	
	
	 Server time: 	 Fri, 29 Dec 2017 21:13:24 +0100
 

rs225

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
878
If you have console access, you should be able to select the different boot environment from the boot loader menu.
 

danb35

Wizened Sage
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
11,947
You also moved back to prior version?
Yes, and it's working fine on 11.0-U4. As @rs225 says, you can pick the former boot environment from the boot loader menu. Once that's started, you can set it to reboot to that one through the web GUI.
 

ChipKng

Neophyte
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
6
Hi guys, thanks for the tips. I had to hook up a monitor to go into the boot environment, and going back to 11.0-U4 the scrubbing continues. I don't know why am I did not think about this option... maybe too lazy...
Anyway, thanks for the help!
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
17,019
Stuck at 56%... That's a new one. File a bug report for this, please. I tried to find some of the existing ones, but couldn't, so they're probably all private.
 

rs225

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
878
I think I saw a bug report yesterday that seems to have the scrub problem identified. It was already 7 days old. The devs already had a suspect in the code.
 

ChipKng

Neophyte
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
6
I think I saw a bug report yesterday that seems to have the scrub problem identified. It was already 7 days old. The devs already had a suspect in the code.
Do you mean this one?

Please confirm if I should open a new bug report, or it's covering my problem as well.
Thanks!
 

rs225

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
878
That is the one. It is up to you whether you think a new bug should be filed, or it might be possible for you to comment on that one if you have anything to add.
 

petr

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
142
Same experience, only I seems to be stuck on 62.65%.

Was anyone able to fix this issue without downgrading? Running FreeNAS-11.1-U5.

Only got the issue with one volume that is connected to the same SAS backplane as other disks (all sata disks)

Tried re-running but now stuck at zero. Everything else seems to be working fine.
 
Last edited:

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
17,019
Unless you're running one of those old versions, which you're not, your problem is a different one.

Please open a new thread and explain your setup in detail. Also, check the SMART data for the disks, because one or more of them are likely on their way out.
 

petr

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
142
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top