Wordpress on FreeNAS 9.2.1.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

4michaej

Cadet
Hi all

I'm new to FreeNAS and I've only ever known windows. I previously used a QNAP NAS which had a webserver and supported wordpress.

I was hoping FreeNAS would also be able to act as a WebServer with Wordpress, but I haven't been able to figure out how to install this.

If anyone has successfully done this, or could help, please get let me know.

Kind regards

John

Yatti420

Wizard
This shoud be possible within a jail.. I see a port for wordpress.. https://www.freshports.org/www/wordpress/ .. I see php/mysql comes with it.. you would still need a webserver on top to serve the wordpress..

4michaej

Cadet
Thank you for your reply. I've tried to run those commands and I get the following error. Any ideas?

[root@freenas ~]# cd /usr/ports/www/wordpress/ && make install clean
bash: cd: /usr/ports/www/wordpress/: No such file or directory
[root@freenas ~]# pkg install www/wordpress
The package management tool is not yet installed on your system.
Do you want to fetch and install it now? [y/N]: y
Bootstrapping pkg please wait
_http._tcp.pkg.FreeBSD.org
pkg: fail to extract pkg-static
[root@freenas ~]#

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
OK. What kind of jail have you created? You need a portjail (when you create it, turn off VIMAGE, and turn off "Vanilla"), once you have a portjail do this:
Code:
portsnap fetch
portsnap extract

Then try to repeat your commands.

4michaej

Cadet
I haven't created a jail, which is maybe where I was going wrong. I'm assuming I need to create a portjailx64 jail from the drop down menu?

4michaej

Cadet
Ok I've created a portjailx64 jail and I've run the commands and it seems to be working. It seems to be downloading an endless amount of different programs and it is taking forever. No idea what I will need to do if these downloads ever finish?

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Right.