Various newbie questions - HBA recommendations, PCIe bifurcation, networking, pool setup ++

Valantar

Dabbler
Hi everyone! I've had a Windows-based DIY NAS for around seven years now, but it's been giving me trouble lately and I've been weighing moving to some more NAS-oriented OS for a couple of years, so I guess the stars kind of aligned. I've had TrueNAS recommended to me the most among the various NAS OSes, so that's what I've landed on using. So far I've set up a test install on the core hardware it'll be running on, though I'll be re-using a lot of hardware, so the current iteration is necessarily rather preliminary. I've got a bunch of questions, and I've been searching, reading and looking around, but can't say I've found much in terms of answers. No doubt my searching and skimming skills are the source of that issue (as well as a limited understanding of relevant terminology), but most of my questions being kind of vague and specific at the same time is probably also a reason. I'm pretty experienced as a PC user, but I've never managed to penetrate Linux, BSD and other non-Windows OSes beyond the odd experiments and copy+pasting terminal commands from the internet. That might change now that I have an actual legitimate use for such an OS, though I also hope I can make this a mostly appliance-like setup with minimal maintenance required.

First, the hardware I'll be running:
CPU: Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard: Biostar X370GTN ITX
GPU: n/a (have a spare one ICE)
RAM: Currently 2x8GB DDR4, planning to upgrade to 2x16GB ECC UDIMM
PSU: Silverstone SX500LG SFX-L, keeping this from the current build
Case: Fractal Design Node 304, also keeping this
Boot drive: currently a 32GB flash drive, long term I'm planning to re-use the 128GB SATA SSD from the current Windows setup