usb_alloc_device: set address 2 failed

Status
Not open for further replies.

nhojmit

Cadet
Hello - When I go into FreeNAS, I find pages of error code. I tried re-installing onto a new memory stick but still the error messages persist. I'm very new to this so I apologise up front if I've not provided enough information.

Build is FreeNAS-11.1-U5
Motherboard: Dell Inc. ODR845 (CPU)
CPU: Intell Pentium E5400 @ 2.70GHZ
RAM: 8.00GB
Memory Stick: 16GB Sandisk Cruzer

I'm using 3 x 2TB Seagate external HDD for storage - all new.

Code:
freenas.local kernel log messages:
> usb_alloc_device: set address 2 failed (USB_ERR_IOERROR, ignored)
> usbd_setup_device_desc: getting device descriptor at addr 2 failed, USB_ERR_IOERROR
> usbd_req_re_enumerate: addr=2, set address failed! (USB_ERR_IOERROR, ignored)
> usbd_setup_device_desc: getting device descriptor at addr 2 failed, USB_ERR_IOERROR
> ugen0.2: <Unknown > at usbus0 (disconnected)
> uhub_reattach_port: could not allocate new device
> usb_alloc_device: set address 2 failed (USB_ERR_IOERROR, ignored)
> ugen0.2: <Unknown > at usbus0 (disconnected)
> uhub_reattach_port: could not allocate new device

-- End of security output --

jro

iXsystems
iXsystems
Either your USB drive or the USB port is funky. It's far more likely it's the USB drive, but you might as well try using another USB port.

It looks like you either unplugged and replugged the USB drive halfway through the log, or it stopped communicating with the system. You might try ordering a second USB drive as well; even the name brand ones can misbehave from time to time.

nhojmit

Cadet
Either your USB drive or the USB port is funky. It's far more likely it's the USB drive, but you might as well try using another USB port.

It looks like you either unplugged and replugged the USB drive halfway through the log, or it stopped communicating with the system. You might try ordering a second USB drive as well; even the name brand ones can misbehave from time to time.