Cadet
Hello - I'm brand new to FreeNAS. System is in my SIG but is as follows:
Lenovo ThinkServer TS130
Model: 1100A32
BIOS Revision: 9HKT47AUS
Processor: Intel Xeon E31275 3.4ghz Quad Core
Memory: 32GB ECC 1333MHZ
Boot Device: PNY 16GB USB 3.0 Thumb Drive
NIC: Intel Pro/1000 PT Dual Port (Add in)
Installed Version: 9.10.1 (Attempted)

I have 3 1TB WD Blues installed currently but I'm not even getting to the point where it shows the command menu and IP Address of the system. I have attached a picture of where it gets. I can hit enter and get into the boot options and I can hit E to edit the three options. Once I try and boot it goes to a blank screen with no cursor. However, the screen is still lit and light is still blue (active). Doesn't matter to which option I boot I get the blank black screen with no cursor.

Tried searching and found a lot of stuff about blank screen WITH a cursor but nothing about just a blank black screen. It has no problem getting to the point below but seems as thought it will not load any further.

Thanks for your time.

Attachments

• 13957610_1138702306187168_535474273_n.jpg
    13957610_1138702306187168_535474273_n.jpg
    44.1 KB · Views: 697

nojohnny101

Wizard
how did you install freenas? did you follow the steps in the manual?

Me thinks something obviously went wrong. It has nothing to do with your drives because it seem you are not even booting into FreeNAS. FreeNAS should boot fine even if you don't have any data disks setup.

Have you checked in the BIOS to see if there are settings pertaining to booting from USB drives? Sometime boards can be finicky about this although I do not have any experience with the TS130 so hopefully someone who does will chime in.

FREEMENAS

Cadet