FreeNAS Won't Boot On USB Stick

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I am a newbie and am trying to get FreeNAS up and running on a HP DC7900 with an Intel E8400 CPU.
It 'only' has 4GB of ram (at the moment) and I know 8GB is recommended but I thought it should at least load the program with 4GB's of ram.

I managed to generate a bootable USB memory stick with the installer image on it using Win32 Disk Imager.
The PC boots and installs FreeNAS on to a separate 8GB USB HP memory stick without issue and says it was successful.

It then says remove the CD Rom and re-boot the system.
The system then shuts down, I pull out the bootable USB memory stick (leaving the 8GB USB HP memory stick in the PC) and the system restarts but it only gets as far as a blinking cursor in the top left of the screen!

I tried repeating the process and booted from the bootable memory stick again. This time it said do you want to upgrade or do a fresh install (so it recognises that the 8GB USB HP memory stick already has FreeNAS installed on it) so I tried selecting 'upgrade'. It goes through the installation process again and again it says the installation was successful.

It then says remove the CD Rom and re-boot the system.
The system then shuts down, I pull out the bootable USB memory stick and the system restarts. This time it then goes through a process of reformatting the configuration data to bring it up to date for the current release.

Once the configuration data has been updated it then shuts down and re-boots again and as before only gets to a blinking cursor in the top left of the screen!

My system can obvious boot from a USB stick and it appears to be installing FreeNAS onto the 8GB memory stick okay but then it simply won't boot beyond the blinking cursor in the top left of the screen.

What am I doing wrong or what do I need to do to fix - any suggestions gratefully received.