Unable to boot from USB after creating FreeNAS 9.3 installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

sYndax

Dabbler
Hey,

I'm new to FreeNAS and just getting started.

I've created an USB Device containing FreeNAS 9.3,
(loaded the ISO Via IPMI and pointed the installer to install on DA6 which is my 16GB Silicon Power DOK).

I've disabled XHCI and XHCI Handoff but then i boot from USB
i just get a blank screen with "-" blinking.

I'm using the latest BIOS from 24/4/14.

What am I doing wrong?

I'm running an X10SLL-F (c2 stepping), Xen 1230V3, 16GB ECC RAM
and M1015 with 6x3TB RED/Green drives.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

gpsguy

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Yeah his situation sounds worse than what I experienced. If I understand him correctly, he was able to install 9.3, but now, he can't even get started with the early parts of the boot sequence. This would suggest it's not even getting to the installed OS in the first place, and so is a more fundamental issue.

The only things I can think of:

• The default boot order on this board---at least for me---did not have the USB boot device near the top. Accordingly, it tried to boot from the actual HDD's I had in there. If you have no pool on those drives, and it attempts to do that, then indeed, one possible outcome is a blinking cursor. Check your boot order in the BIOS. Put the USB drive first (if no CD-ROM is expect to be present at any time on the system), or second (if a CD-ROM may be used at times).
  • Generally, the boot sequence won't even send video, at all, on the X10 (to my knowledge) if you've a bad CPU SKU. Makes sense, since the video is integrated on the CPU. Therefore, it would seem logical that if you see a blinking cursor, the CPU compatibility is not a problem. But, just for shits and giggles, what's the CPU you have installed there? And what's your BIOS version?