TrueNAS SCALE - Networking between kubernetes and VM

JoFont

Cadet
Hello, good afternoon.

I've currently started playing around with SCALE to see the future possibilities. I'm very much a layman in regards to sysadmin (though I'm a developer) so please bear with me if I don't understand some of this topics. I'm currently running Nginx Proxy Manager (but could be any for this matter) with the built int kubernetes environment. I also have some services scattered along VMs that I don't really know how to use with the current Containers GUI.

The problem seems that Nginx returns 502 when proxying services inside the VMs, this seems to me to be because the docker network can't talk directly to the VM's Mac Taps (which I only kind of understand what they are).

Can someone point me if this is the case and how would I go about solving this problem?

Thank you very much in advance.
Stay safe.
All the best,
Diogo Marques

ornias

Wizard
I'm currently running Nginx Proxy Manager (but could be any for this matter) with the built int kubernetes environment.

People should start using K8S in how it is supposed to be used: with Ingresses. Nginx Proxy Manager is not very k8s aware and a very non-standard solution. It's not even made to work with K8S at all and as soon as clustering is introduced won't even work correctly.

The problem seems that Nginx returns 502 when proxying services inside the VMs, this seems to me to be because the docker network can't talk directly to the VM's Mac Taps (which I only kind of understand what they are).
Yeah without hostnetworking and a lot of tweaking to get these hacky setups running, this is going to be a pain. I don't think it's wise to even start assisting you in doing this, because this is not a good way of doing it in general: Using all sorts of non-standard hacky solutions on-top of eachother when there are already existing solutions that are made to do what you want them to do.