TrueNAS Core on Dell Poweredge T330

technobabble

Cadet
Hi Everyone!

Total noob here so my apologies for any and all basic and/or stupid questions in advance.

I am planning to install TrueNAS Core on a used Dell Poweredge T330 with an Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 3.4GHz, 8M cache, 4C/8T, turbo (80W) and 32GB of ram. I just wanted some advice on whether this server would work using TrueNAS Core? It has a H730 PERC (Poweredge Raid COntroller), and I know that Hardware Raid controllers don't play well with ZFS ( or atleast don't allow me to make full use of the benefits of ZFS). Is there any way around this? Coudl I replace or bypass the PERC and still have this server work?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
am planning to install TrueNAS Core on a used Dell Poweredge T330 with an Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 3.4GHz, 8M cache, 4C/8T, turbo (80W) and 32GB of ram. I just wanted some advice on whether this server would work using TrueNAS Core?
Sure.
It has a H730 PERC (Poweredge Raid COntroller), and I know that Hardware Raid controllers don't play well with ZFS ( or atleast don't allow me to make full use of the benefits of ZFS). Is there any way around this? Coudl I replace or bypass the PERC and still have this server work?
Yeah, just replace it. It's a standard PCIe card in those things, right? If so, just replace it with any of the standard recommended cards. If it's a Dell-proprietary mezzanine, you can either ignore it or replace it with a Dell HBA330 mini.

technobabble

Cadet
Sure.

Yeah, just replace it. It's a standard PCIe card in those things, right? If so, just replace it with any of the standard recommended cards. If it's a Dell-proprietary mezzanine, you can either ignore it or replace it with a Dell HBA330 mini.
Thanks! Yeah I believe the PERC is just a PCIe card but I'll have to confirm. Would you happen to know where I could get a list of recommended cards?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

technobabble

Cadet