TrueNAS 12.0-u6 and Plex Plugin

Hi, I hope someone can assist please. I'm new to setting up a NAS but I thought it'd be a good solution for a Plex server.

All was well, I have 2 x 1TB HDD's and I've set this up as separate drives / pools within the NAS (for specific file types etc)

However, when I tried to set up the Plex Plugin with DHCP settings, I get the following message. "Error: Plex had a failure Exception: RuntimeError Message: + Acquiring DHCP address: FAILED, address received: ERROR, check jail logs Stopped Plex due to DHCP failure Partial plugin destroyed"

I have tried the NAT option but the Plex web page will not open from the manage link.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Ps. If it's relevant, my router is an ASUS RT-AX92U

Many thanks

for reading this far.

\
David

vidx

Dabbler
Have you tried to manually set an IP address?

Hi, thanks for helping.

I’m a bit of a newbie to networking and a NAS. So please excuse any dumb questions from me etc.

I did set a static IP for the actual NAS 192.168.50.51 on my router and then removed it. I had the same problem both times. It won’t allow me to install the Plex plugin.

Many thanks again

David

vidx

Dabbler
Assuming Truenas is set up correctly since you are able to to install a plugin from the GUI, try setting a static IP for Plex

Capture.JPG

Untick DHCP and NAT

vidx

Dabbler
No, that would be an unused IP address that does not conflict with any other devices on the same network, e.g. 192.168.50.68

Boom. I think we’ve smashed it. I got an error message confirming what you said. So I tried the IP ending 52 instead. It took a while but eventually it installed. I’ll let you know how the setup goes.

You’re amazing. Many thanks.

David

vidx

Dabbler
Glad to help!

djkt1980

Cadet
@vidx and @balloonhead26 .. I am in the same/similar boat with my plex plugin and installation. While attempting a normal DHCP box ticket install, I also received the exact same error code...see below.