Trouble importing pool after dead usb boot key

mrjulian

Cadet
Hi

I have been running FreeNAS with no problems since I built my home server back in June this year.
Three days ago I discovered that it was not working. I connected a monitor to the server and found this message:
This is a freenas data disk and cannot boot system.

A long post follows with loads of detail, but first my setup:
HP Proliant ML310e Gen8 v2
16GB DDR3 RAM
4 x Seagate Ironwolf 1TB NAS HDDs
FreeNAS-11.3-U3.2
1 pool, all 4 disks included, configured RAIDZ2

...and a little about me:
Although I now run a property management business in France, most of my working life was spent in the UK in IT, most recently as a network engineer managing Checkpoint, Palo Alto and Cisco firewalls, plus various bits of Cisco LAN kit. Although a relative newbie as far as FreeNAS is concerned, my background is tech ;-)

So, it sounds like my USB boot device (SanDisk something or other, 16GB I think!) has got corrupted, I thought. But why was it trying to reboot anyway…?

************ Possible red herring warning :smile:
To check the USB key I put it into my Linux Mint box – which did not recognise that anything had been inserted. Looks like the USB key is toast :-(
To check that the server would boot from a good USB key I put a Linux Mint boot USB key in the server. This booted OK, but did give a couple of strange warnings during the Mint boot process:

TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata: please update microcode to version: 0x22 (or later)
the BIOS has corrupted hw PMU resources MSR 38d is 330

Googling these messages it sounds like they are more Linux-related than FreeBSD, but I flashed the BIOS (same version is still current) just to be sure – it made no difference.

However, I could not reliably boot into Mint – sometimes it went straight to booting off the network interface, despite the boot order being USB then network, and even when I pressed F11 for the boot menu and selected USB boot.