Traefik with docker images (not TrueCharts apps)

dirtyfreebooter

Explorer
I have a few apps I want to run that either aren't in TrueCharts, or are on the TODO list, or I want the latest and greatest and don't want to wait for TrueCharts. These run completely fine and easily by just using the "Launch Docker Image" button. But I need to reverse proxy them for SSL certs and whatnot.

I have never used k8s or k3s before TrueNAS SCALE, but I am assuming that the whole ingress part is some layer provided by TrueCharts/k3s that allows the apps to easily add to traefik and that it would not be possible or extremely cumbersome to add plain old container to traefik?

Seems like a decent option then would be for me to not use traefik and run something like NGINX Proxy Manager in container and use the internal DNS to refer to all the container ips I need for reverse proxy?

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
You can run the TrueCharts app called External-Service and get that to point your docker app at Traefik... that's the best answer I found for the case you're talking about.

dirtyfreebooter

Explorer
External-Service does not work for this. For me, External-Service works fine for any hosts/ips outside of the k3s, but if i try and use either an IP or name from the k3s network/dns side of things, i just get "Bad gateway"

truecharts

Guru
External-Service does not work for this. For me, External-Service works fine for any hosts/ips outside of the k3s, but if i try and use either an IP or name from the k3s network/dns side of things, i just get "Bad gateway"
It's a hack, but what @sretalla was explaining was exposing things on the host and pointing external-service to the host.
It does technically work.

If you need help with Apps like external-service it's best to reach out directly though...

dirtyfreebooter

Explorer