total Noob install question

Status
Not open for further replies.

pblack00

Cadet
Hi All,

I've got a CD-rom made with the disk image, and it starts to boot, but at some point it says - "looking for installation cdrom on" and hangs...

any ideas?

pblack00

Al562

Dabbler
Hi Pblack00,

Possibly bad CD-ROM, cable, port. Possibly bad disc, bad or improperly burned disc image, download/burn again, check the file hash on the download before burning. Possibly incorrect MB/BIOS settings. Possibly incompatible hardware.

Best of luck,
Al

B

Bohs Hansen

as addition to what Al562 already said, burn the ISO at lowest possible speed, can make a lot of difference.

pblack00

Cadet
so I forgot to plug in my USB key and got past my first issue. Now it just displays this text over and over - /dev/da0s1 /dev/da0

I left it for 10-15 min thinking it was transferrring something to the USB key, but it just kept typing that on the screen.

Thanks
pblack00

pblack00

Cadet
Hi Again,

I've done what was suggested above, made a new CD, at slowest speed and it starts the install. At one point finds my USB key, then says this:

/dev/da0s1 /dev/da0

just keeps repeating this over and over, have unplugged all my drives except one and the cd-rom.

Any clue what this is?

Pblack00

pblack00

Cadet
So I seem to conquered the first problem, I unplugged all drives and it boots better (still never gets to config screen). Now it give me some sort of SCSI error and it seems it's unable to mount the internal cdrom (acd0?) and asks for SHELL or press enter for /bin/sh???