Total/Complete/Newbie

DFergFLA

Cadet
Hello, I am a newbie. Total newbie. I recently decided I wanted to setup a home sever to share may data on my network between devices and have a Plex Server and also some VMs for running different OSes. After watching what feels like 100 hours of videos on YouTube talking about Proxmox, OMV, Rockstor and on and on. I came across TrueNas Scale. On the surface it seems to be exactly what I am looking for. A NAS that also has Hypervisor. It appears to be pretty simple to use. I do understand some of terms having worked on this type of thing in the past. Like way, past... stone ages ago. I have watched some videos and done some reading and I just need to clear up some questions in my head that I can't seem to find the answers to. Just to note. I have not installed anything as of yet. I am in the process of leaning as much as I can before I tackle it.

I want to install TrueNAS Scale onto an SSD as recommended. The hardware I will be using will have one single NVME SSD for installing the OS. Also this SSD is going to be over 256gb. The system requirements are for 16gigs of space. This leaves me with like a lot, I mean a lot of empty space on a nice, fast SSD. I would like to be able to install VMs onto the same SSD as TrueNas is running so that I don't waste hundreds of gigs of space and have to use a spinning drive for my VMs. Using a spinning drive to run an OS is a step way too far backwards. On the hardware I will be using I only have one NVME slot to use. So putting in two NVME is not possible.