System hangs then crashes 1 - 5 seconds into SMB or iSCSI transfer of large files.

ultrask14

Dabbler
This is my first post, I am a newbie, be gentle.

System
CPU: FX6300
MB: M5A97 EVO R.2
Ram: Corsair 32GB 4x8GB DDR3 Vengeance
PSU: AeroCool 750W Power Supply, Semi-Modular, 80 Plus Bronze
HBA: 9211-8i

Configuration
TrueNAS-12.0-U2
Tank 1, 2x8tb NAS
Tank 2, 5x1tb NAS
- located in tank 2 is a 60gb iSCSI share.

Error
1) When transferring large files or a collection of large files (anything larger than 650,000kb) from between SMB or iSCSI shares iSCSI shares the trueness system hangs after 1 - 5 seconds of transferring and is unresponsive. I have noticed that speed starts of steady for 1 second but drops down to a crawl, waits there, then crashes system. During this transfer, my ARC which is capped at 16gb as a tunable, does not peak or reach the limit of space I've allocated it.

2) I can Edit files stored on Tank 2 or Tank 1, save new files, and even record to these shares at 1080p 6k bitrate with no hassle however RENDERING files to the SMB share crashes the system too. Context on why this is interesting - at the end of the rendering process from media encoder there is a large spike in disc usage as the cache is dumped whilst the file is written (2gig output file MP4 format none VFR file) this spike crashes the system when outputting to SMB but not to iSCSI and only occurs when the rendering process is up to 100% complete.

3) Funnily enough I can recreate the crash on my bosses TrueNAS configuration - transferring a 40gb file, 7gb file and 2gb file from iSCSI to SMB share located on the same pool RAIDZ2 with 6 x 1tb drives. 32gb DDR3 ECC ram. He has purchased some SSDs to use as slogs also but these have not arrived yet.

Only fix is a hard reset. Before hanging there are no system errors displayed on the output from the server.

Steps to fix error
1) https://www.truenas.com/community/t...rap-12-page-fault-while-in-kernel-mode.60220/