Supermicro box

tony_m

Cadet
Hi all! Been lurking for awhile and finally ready to build my first FreeNas. Huge thanks to all of you who give your help and knowledge to the community. Really great folks here!

Some background: I'm new to ZFS but I'm no stranger to *nix or building hardware. I'm currently running a handful of Raspberry Pis for various jobs and want to consolidate as much as possible into one box: Plex media server (two televisions), home automation (Home Assistant/Z-Wave), music server (Squeeze/LMS), and cloud server (currently have OwnCloud running on my email server @Rackspace but want to migrate that home and maybe move to NextCloud?), plus computer backups, photo storage, etc. I was looking at the Mini XL but then came across these used SuperMicro SuperChassis and think they'll be worlds better than the XL for a substantially lower price. While I'd like the box to be reasonably quiet I don't need it to be silent. It will live in a hallway closet.

Here's what I speced out:

Supermicro SuperServer 6047R-E1R24N 24-Bay LFF 4U Rackmount Server
Processor 1: Intel Xeon E5-2650 v2 2.6GHz 8 Core 20MB Cache Processor - $70.00
Processor 2: Intel Xeon E5-2650 v2 2.6GHz 8 Core 20MB Cache Processor - $70.00
Memory: 128GB DDR3 ECC Registered Memory (8 x 16GB) - $320.00
Management: IPMI 2.0 with Virtual Media Over LAN & Dedicated SIMLP-3+ - $25.00
Power Supplies: 2x Redundant 920W Power Supplies

Cost with shipping is $1065

From Supermicro's specs the PSs are Platinum level and SQs

The dual E5-2650s should be a more than capable 19,036 benchmark?

I plan to start with 6 10tb WD Reds to play around with and add more later when I figure out how many I'll need.

Anything I'm missing? Is there something superior for around this price point?

Thanks in advance for any guidance you can give me.

Cheers!
Tony_M

KevinM

Contributor