Storage for small Renderfarm

Status
Not open for further replies.

TobiT92

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I did spent the last few days on reading on the whole FreeNAS topic and still am very overwhelmed as I am new to many things. I decided to create a thread to get help from experienced people to get a hint in the right directions, and what is best for my specific needs.

(I am willing to read on all the necessary things by myself, of course, I'd just love to know what exactly is good for my needs before I read several other guides that cover things that are not important to me at all, like 24/7 uptime for example)

So, let's begin.

Background:
I am a 3D Animator (Motion Designer) and have a small render Farm of old workstations that can render an animation simultaneously and therefor speed up render times. However, depending on the project, the project files and cached animation data can be as large as 500GB, with individual files as big as 10GB and need to be accessed by up to 4 render nodes at a time.

What do I need this thing to do:

I need 2 Volumes (not sure if Volume is the right term):
first Volume: Big Space available (8-16TB). Provide fast read access to large (several GB) cache files for up to 4 machines over network. Speed is king here. Security is NOT a priority here, as the cached data can be recreated easily, so Parity can be removed for performance.

Second Volume: Host small files like textures and project files, needs Parity to prevent data loss. Speed is not a top priority, shouldn't be less than 1Gbit/s for single access though, more is always welcome of course. Volume should be around 2-4TB of usable space.

The 2 Volumes will be linked as Network Drives in Windows 7 on each of the render machines and shall act like normal local harddrives.

What do I NOT need:

-24/7 uptime guarantee. The files are only accessed when rendered or when I actively work on the second Volume. The NAS will be shut down when it is not needed.