Slow transfer speeds

Status
Not open for further replies.

trilepton

Dabbler
This is my first build and currently I'm in the testing/burn in phase. I'm getting ~12Mb/s transfer speeds on both CIFS and FTP and I expect something isn't right since people here get much higher speeds.

My build:
  • Supermicro MBD-X10SLL-F-O MicroATX LGA1150 Server Motherboard
  • Intel Pentium Processor G3220 3.0 GHz LGA 1150 BX80646G3220
  • Crucial 8GB Single DDR3L 1600MT/s PC3-12800 DR x8 ECC UDIMM 240-Pin Server Memory CT102472BD160B
  • Corsair Builder Series CX 430 Watt ATX/EPS 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply
  • 4X 2TB WD Red drives (in a RAID-Z2 configuration, no encryption)
  • 8GB Sandisk USB flash drive
  • APC BE750G UPS
Network topology:
There is a Linksys WRT54G series router degraded to a switch (running dd-wrt, wifi disabled). This switch is central to the components discussed here (all traffic passes through it). The components are a Verizon router (Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I), the NAS box, and an HP G60 530US laptop. All connections are over ethernet (some or all CAT5). Only one of the LAN ports on the NAS box is used (for IPMI and regular traffic). The HP laptop has a Realtek PCIe FE family controller.

I tried copying a 1.5GB file in the following scenarios:
  • CIFS to and from laptop: 11-13 MB/s
  • FTP to and from laptop: 12 MiB/s
  • Different partitions on the laptop: 37-40 MB/s
  • Same folder on the laptop: 52 MB/s
I also tried copying from another HP desktop (connected directly to the Verizon router, not sure about NIC but a regular consumer one) using CIFS and get the same 11-13 MB/s speed.
I'm not sure if it helps but I also did a speed test (speedtest.net) from the laptop and got 41.2 Mbps up/61.3 Mbps down.

Why can't my transfer speeds surpass 13 MB/s?

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer