slow transfer Speeds on other computers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fanterrific

Dabbler
Hi, I am a big FreeNAS noob.

we have a FreeNAS-9.2.1.8-RELEASE-x64 (e625626) set up and running. When I transfer a file (~2GB) from the FreeNAS to my desktop computer (Killer e2200 NIC, Windows 8) I get about 70 MB/s , but when I transfer a file of that size from the FreeNAS to my laptops (LAN, Windows 7 & Windows 8) then the transfer speeds drop to about 8-10 MB/s. Please help!

FreeNAS build:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 530 @ 2.93GHz
8GB RAM
ZFS Software Raid 5
MB: GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD2 LGA 1156 Intel P55 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
NIC: Realtek 8111D
No hardware Raid controller.

Using a Verizon Fios router and all devices were connected by a lan cable.

This is my iperf data:
Code:
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[184]  0.0- 1.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  1.0- 2.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  2.0- 3.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  3.0- 4.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  4.0- 5.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  5.0- 6.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  6.0- 7.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  7.0- 8.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  8.0- 9.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  9.0-10.0 sec   112 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
[184]  0.0-10.0 sec  1120 MBytes   112 MBytes/sec
server sent unexpected data failed
Done.

I see that the connection keeps failing at the end. I have ran the iperf a few times and it keep failing at the end like that. Anybody feedback would be appreciated. Thank you!

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Realtek GbE. What did you expect?

Edit: Realtek AND Killer?

Boy, that is a craptastic set of network hardware (no offense meant, my desktop has crummy Realtek GbE as well).

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Hi, I am a big FreeNAS noob.

You don't need to tell us that. We can tell from your choice of hardware (hint: none of it is anything we recommend).