Slow Transfer Speeds between Windows and SMB Share

seanmcg182

Dabbler
So, I've seen a few similar articles, but nothing that ended up helping me solve my issue.
Headsup, I'm pretty new to not only TrueNAS, but Linux in general. Literally just started 2 weeks ago. I'm a Windows fanboy haha.

To start off, my Server:
- Asrock B450M Pro 4 motherboard
- 32GB 3200MHz RAM
- Ryzen 2700X CPU
- MSI GT710 GPU
- 3x 8TB Toshiba X300 HDDs, (RAIDZ, Encrypted, set up in TrueNAS)
- ESXi v6.7U3
- TrueNAS on a VM, v12.0-U1.1... 16GB Alloted/Reserved RAM, 6CPU Cores.

I do a lot of data transfer between my Windows 10 Desktop, and a Windows SMB Share I have hosted from TrueNAS.

When I do this, it usually starts off at like 70-80MiB/s, and then quickly drops to 10-20MiB/s, sometimes just dropping to 0 for a good 30-60 seconds.

Per other posts, I've looked at my network adapter configuration, and it says "media: Ethernet autoselect"... it does NOT say whether its 100baseT or 1000BaseT...
The TrueNAS dashbaord is the same readout, just "autoselect"
I tried forcing "sudo ifconfig vmx0 media 1000baseTX mediaopt full-duplex "... however I just get the response "ifconfig: SIOCSIFMEDIA (media): Device not configured" which I can't find any help about online.

My ESXi is also hosting a Windows10 VM, and running a Speedtest on there yields results of 500MB/s... I know that's Internet traffic, and not local traffic, but that shows that the Ethernet Cable has high bandwidth...
The desktop yields similar speedtest results.

I can provide any other information as requested.

Side note: Transferring files from a Windows SMB Share to a Linux NFS share also takes a decent amount of time... not really sure how long speed-wise, as I do that through the terminal with mv -r commands... however this issue might just be from having to transcode file formats for the different shares... Not sure if this is an "issue" or functioning normally.

seanmcg182

Dabbler
TotalRead = 41,978 MiB