setting up FreeNAS & Owncloud

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juergen

Dabbler
Hi,

I try to set up FreeNAS together with owncloud.
  • FreeNAS-9.1.1-RELEASE-x64 is up and running.
  • ownCloud 5.0.11 installed from plugins is also up and running.
Both are accessible remote, everything works fine.

Now I want to access my FreeNAS-Storage via OwnCloud. I have one big volume (/mnt/volume01), which contains all my directories and files. These files and directories should be accessible remote via owncloud/webdav.

What do i have to do? Warning: I'm a noob in FreeNAS *AND* OwnCloud :rolleyes:

thx in advance,
J.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
You have to pass through your volume to owncloud's jail(aka plugin) and then share it from there.

I'm not sure how owncloud works with the whole local/remote thing. If its like dropbox it'll try to replicate your entire pool locally. And I'm pretty sure you don't have that kind of space on your remote workstations.

Juergen

Dabbler
Hi,

You have to pass through your volume to owncloud's jail(aka plugin) and then share it from there.

well, this is my problem. How do i "pass through" a volume to a jail and ho2w do I "share" something from there? Can you describe those steps in more detail?

I'm not sure how owncloud works with the whole local/remote thing. If its like dropbox it'll try to replicate your entire pool locally. And I'm pretty sure you don't have that kind of space on your remote workstations.

No, as I understand oc it won't replicate anything locally. But let give it a try.

Cheers,
D.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
well, this is my problem. How do i "pass through" a volume to a jail and ho2w do I "share" something from there? Can you describe those steps in more detail?

The manual explains how to setup your jails/plugins with the appropriate passthrough. I can't think of the right term off the top of my head.

Juergen

Dabbler
Hi,