BUILD Sanity Check - First Time Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

AgentJuno

Dabbler
Hello All,

I am new to the world of FreeNAS and have absorbed a ton of information over the past few weeks. I have assembled a list of components that I believe should provide me with a decent home-use build. At some point in the future, I may be running a Plex server with one or two streams at most.

Seeing as all the FreeNAS experts are conveniently located here, I was hoping to get some thoughts on my proposed build to make sure that I haven't misunderstood the hardware guides / recommendations. I may be able to spend a few more bucks on these components, but my budget is at the top end of what I have available.

Chassis / Case: Fractal R4
MoBo: Supermicro MBD-X10SLL-F-O
CPU: i3 4170
RAM: Crucial 16GB Kit (8GB+8GB) - CT2KIT102472BD160B
PSU - Corsair RM 450

I will initially only use 4 HDDs (WD Reds) in this box and may expand in the future.

I hope I haven't missed the mark anywhere. Your thoughts and comments are appreciated!

Thanks!

David3D

Explorer
Hi there,

Welcome to the fold. You will want to reconsider your CPU choice. I remember reading somewhere i3's support ECC memory, but I'm not sure if that is a golden rule yet.

This is an edit, I wrote all about ECC, but it looks like the memory you have listed is ECC. Whether or not that CPU will take advantage is another story.

Western Digital Reds (the standard ones) lack what some consider to be necessary shock sensors for NAS use. RED pros have the shock sensors, but run hotter due to being 7200RPM rather than 5500. Some have had success with WD Green drives, but have re-programmed them to prevent early failure.

Good luck! :)

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi there,
Welcome to the fold. You will want to reconsider your CPU and memory choices. Unless it's too early in the morning and I am reading wrong, you don't have ECC memory listed.
It's ECC memory