Rsync Between two FreeNAS over WAN

Status
Not open for further replies.

paulvella

Cadet
Hi,

I am new to FreeNAS but have been fiddling around with it for the last 2 weeks. I am trying to configure a FreeNAS to FreeNAS sync by using Rsync but over a WAN connection. I wish to have a remote backup at home in case if something happens at my office.

I have set up the primary FreeNAS at my office and the other at my home. I have setup Volumes and CIFS on the office side and I have successfully put files and folders on it. I then switched on the Rsync service and added an Rsync module. Took note of the rsync module name and gave it the path. I setup a static IP on this machine and port forwarded port 873 to it.

At the home side I have setup volumes cifs and switched on rsync service and added a new rsync task. I gave the task the path where to store the data, office dns hostname (no-ip) as remote host, written the correct remote module name, direction pull as I need to pull data from the office, gave it a frequency of 15 minutes and ticked the delete option.

But still cannot get a result. Am I doing something wrong? need your help.

Thanks
Paul

ternarybit

Cadet
  • Consider that pure rsync is not encrypted and therefore anything sent over the link is clear to any eavesdropper. This is not a problem for public data (like website mirrors) but it poses a threat to personal data. Rsync over SSH or ZFS replication are two ways to achieve privacy.
  • From the way you describe things, it sounds like you're not getting any kind of error or response from FreeNAS. Assuming your'e OK with using pure rsync, I suggest manually running a sync task from the shell. The shell will probably give you an error that will be helpful in troubleshooting. Try rsync'ing locally before traversing the WAN.